Bryan ISDChildren First. Always.

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Accreditation Status

The Texas Education Agency accredits public schools in Texas at the district level for grades K-12. The Accreditation Status, Standards, and Sanctions section of the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) states how accreditation statuses will be determined and assigned to school districts. Those statuses are defined as Accredited, Accredited-Warned, Accredited-Probation, and Not Accredited-Revoked. The TAC rules also establish accreditation standards and sanctions, including definitions, purpose and oversight appointments.


The state's school financial accountability rating system, known as the School Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas (FIRST), ensures that Texas public schools and charters are held accountable for the quality of their financial management practices and that they improve those practices.

More information about Accreditation Status can be found on TEA’s website:

The accreditation status is based on the academic accountability rating and financial ratings from the Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas. A district or charter must be accredited by the state to operate as a public school.

The district accreditation statuses are listed below: 

  • 2018-2019 FIRST Rating:  A-Superior
  • 2019 Accountability Rating:  C
  • TEA suspended the assignment of accreditation statuses until the 2021-2022 school year under the authority of amended 19 TAC §97.1055 due to COVID